Spoon Announces “Everything Hits at Once” Compilation Album


On July 26th, the Austin-indie outfit Spoon is releasing a greatest hits compilation, titled “Everything Hits at Once: The Best of Spoon”, after one of the many singles that made the cut.

“Everything Hits at Once: The Best of Spoon” will include hit songs from Spoon’s discography. The songs collected range from their 2001 album, “Girls Can Tell”, all the way up to their most recent single, “No Bullets Spent”, which was released as a promotional single for the upcoming album. The only albums that weren’t chosen to pick songs from were Spoon’s earlier ones, “Telephono” (1996), and “A Series of Sneaks” (1998).

Everything Hits at Once

It’s a bit curious why an indie band that’s been around for years and years now would go and choose to put out a compilation album. Especially in this day and age, when fans are more likely to compile their personal favorites into their own playlists. There’s something nostalgic about the choice, as it’s not a move you’d expect from any of the younger artists and musicians crowding the airwaves these days.

Still, even if it is mainly driven by a nostalgia for a simpler time when albums like these were released on CD, there’s no denying that Spoon has a catalog of songs impressive enough to warrant a best-of album. If anything, it’s a surprise that they’ve taken this long to put one out.

“Everything Hits at Once” consists of thirteen of Spoon’s most popular and hardest hitting songs. If you were going to draft a list of their absolute best, it’d be a challenge to sub out any of the tracks included for another.

Of the albums Spoon drew from, nearly half come from either 2014’s “They Want My Soul”, or 2007’s “Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga”, with a couple from 2005’s “Gimme Fiction”, as well. At first, it was surprising that only the lead single from 2017’s “Hot Thoughts” made the album. But as stated before, what would you take out to make room for something like, “Can I Sit Next To You”?

Spoon will also be going on tour to promote “Everything Hits at Once”, along with Beck and Cage the Elephant. You can find dates and tickets for the tour here.

Track List

1. “I Turn My Camera On” Gimme Fiction, 2005 3:32
2. “Do You” They Want My Soul, 2014 3:33
3. “Don’t You Evah” Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga, 2007 3:37
4. “Inside Out” They Want My Soul 5:02
5. “The Way We Get By” Kill the Moonlight, 2002 2:40
6. “The Underdog” Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga 3:42
7. “Hot Thoughts” Hot Thoughts, 2017 3:49
8. “I Summon You” Gimme Fiction 3:56
9. “Rent I Pay” They Want My Soul 3:09
10. “You Got Yr Cherry Bomb” Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga 3:09
11. “Got Nuffin” Transference, 2010 3:59
12. “Everything Hits at Once” Girls Can Tell, 2001 4:04
13. “No Bullets Spent” Everthing Hits at Once: The Best of Spoon, 2019 3:41



Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.