Johnny Mercer – Music Shop – CD


Music Shop
Artist: Johnny Mercer
UPC: 5019317080600


Johnny Mercer was a Southern gentleman who was born in Savannah, Georgia on November the 18th 1909. He wrote more lyrics than any other song writer, more than one thousand in all, including Blues In The Night, That Old Black Magic, Dream and Moon River. His amiable style of singing emphasizing his Southern drawl made him very popular, his biggest record hits being On The Aitchison Topeka And The Santa Fe, Accentuate The Positive, Personality, Candy and Baby It’s Cold Outside. He was at one time master of ceremonies and singer for the Paul Whiteman Band and by 1939 was singing on the Benny Goodman radio Show. The recordings on this disc come from his own popular radio show Johnny Mercer’s Music Shop which also featured Jo Stafford and The Pied Pipers with June Hutton (Jo Stafford was originally one of The Pied Pipers but when she went solo her place was taken by June Hutton). Tracks include: Introduction by Johnny Mercer and Wendell Myles; Is You Is Or Is You Ain’t My Baby (voc: Johnny Mercer); San Fernando Valley (voc: Johnny Mercer); My Blue Heaven; Love Go Away (vocs: The Pied Pipers with June Hutton); It Could Happen To You (voc: Jo Stafford).

Track List:

1. Introduction: Johnny Mercer/Wendell Myles
2. Is You Is Or Is You Ain’t (My Baby)
3. San Fernando Valley
4. My Blue Heaven
5. Love, Go Away
6. It Could Happen To You
7. Dream
8. Introduction: Johnny Mercer/Wendell Myles
9. Sugar
10. The Trolley Song
11. Sure Thing
12. Conversation With June Duprez I Woke Up And Started Dreaming
13. Dream
14. Introduction: Johnny Mercer/Wendell Myles
15. Exactly Like You
16. Goodnight, Wherever You Are
17. You Can Depend On Me
18. Crazy Rhythm
19. Alexander’s Ragtime Band
20. Dream
21. Introduction: Johnny Mercer/Wendell Myles
22. I Can’t Help It
23. Time Waits For No One
24. I Get The Blues When It Rains
25. I’m Not Jealous
26. Dream


Format: Compact Discs

Genre: VOCAL

UPC: 5019317080600

Artist: Johnny Mercer

Release Date: 09/20/2011

Where To Buy:

Lemonwire Store


Advertise With Us:

Connect with over a million consumers a month!

Music Shop


Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.