Preview: The Be Colony and Bybye Split EP Release Party


Next Saturday, January 13th, The State Street Pub in Indianapolis will be hosting the EP release party for The Be Colony and Bybye’s collaborated “Extinct EP”. Also performing at State Street Pub will be Sunset Pig, Dirty Deville, and America Owns The Moon.

The Be Colony

The Be Colony is a psychedelic rock band from Fort Wayne, Indiana. They released their debut album “Settling Down” in 2015. Since then, The Be Colony has released three additional albums. The most recent of these, “Mystic Morning” came out in October of 2016. The members of The Be Colony include Jacob Terhune (vocals, guitar), Atticus Sorrell (vocals, guitar), Zac Terhune (guitar, keys), Wes Johnson (bass), and Bray Coughlin (drums). The Be Colony makes atmospheric psychedelic music, often including wavering, delay, and reverb-soaked guitar mixed with synths.

You can find out more about The Be Colony by visiting their Facebook page. You can also listen to The Be Colony on Bandcamp.


Bybye is an electronic and experimental soul band based out of Indianapolis. Their self-titled debut album released in 2015, and includes songs like “Birth of Light”, which strikes a note somewhere between Animal Collective, and Peter Bjorn and John. Others, like Stereo Inn”, feature a more upbeat groove mixed with catchy guitar riffs and constant synths. The members of Bybye are Martin Green (organ, vocals), Nick Peoni (lead guitar), Sam Shafer (acoustic guitar, keyboards, vocals), Paul Symons (drums), and Cody Davis (bass).

To learn more about Bybye, you can visit their website. You can also find Bybye on both Facebook and Bandcamp.

Dirty Deville

Dirty Deville is a “progressive/psychedelic/post-rock band” from Ann Arbor, Michigan that formed in 2011. In their music, they blend atmospheric vocals that remind me of Thom Yorke, along with searing guitar solos and upbeat drums. A lot of their songs, in fact, feature intricate fingerpicking progressions as much as catchy, distorted rock or blues riffs.

Dirty Deville consists of Adam Snyder (guitar, lead vocals), Dan Seling (lead guitar), Tom Neil (bass, vocals), and Graham Low (drums, vocals).

You can listen to Dirty Deville by visiting their Bandcamp page. You can also find them on Facebook.

Sunset Pig

Sunset Pig is an electronic and psychedelic pop-rock band from Vincennes, Indiana. If anything can be said about Sunset Pig, it’s that they aren’t afraid to experiment with their sound. Sometimes, as with albums like “CoolCoolCool”, they trend toward instrumental electronic grooves. In more vocal-heavy songs like “Everything is Fake” I think they sound more like a poppy Animal Collective.

To find out more about Sunset Pig, you can visit their Facebook page. You can listen to “CoolCoolCool”, “Everything is Fake”, and more by finding Sunset Pig on Bandcamp.

America Owns The Moon

America Owns the Moon is an Indianapolis rock and roll band. Its members consist of Danny Ray Russell Jr., Christian Taylor, Hubert Glover, and Casey Tennis.

You can find America Owns The Moon on Facebook. You can also visit their website, which isn’t fully developed, but does contain links if you’d like to learn more about them.


The Split Release Party at State Street Pub starts at 9:00 pm next Saturday, January 13th. You should expect about a five to ten dollar cover charge.


Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.