Preview: Ed Lanier Album Release at The Mousetrap


This weekend, be sure to get on down to The Mousetrap Bar and Grill for a special performance from Ed Lanier. He’ll be releasing his debut album, “Hold On, We Gon’ Rock and Roll”. Other artists who will be playing at the event include Native Sun, and Clint Breeze and The Groove.

Ed Lanier

Ed Lanier is a new and upcoming Indianapolis artist looking to pave his way into the Indy music scene with his album release party this Saturday. His music features a refreshing blend of funk, soul, rock, jazz, and rap. While he isn’t that well known yet, Lanier is well on his way. If I had to take a stab at another group that sounded like Ed Lanier, it’d be The Main Squeeze. Both seem to share an aesthetic for soulful jams and funky beats. If that isn’t enough to get you interested, you’ve obviously never listened to The Main Squeeze before. For that, I’m truly sorry.

For more information on Ed Lanier, you can visit his Facebook page.

Native Sun

Native Sun is a local Indianapolis hip hop group that formed in 2008. The group consists of B Young (emcee, producer), Sleepy (drums, programming, producer), and B Meeks (electric and synth bass, producer). Native Sun’s reasoning for why Indy is dubbed “Nap Town” is that “…it’s the most slept-on city in America”. The members of this charismatic group seem to take that as more of a challenge. They’re actively striving to shake the rest of the city out of its sleepy, midwest daze. B Young’s lyrics alone achieve this to great effect, and are emphasized more by the professional-level production quality Native Sun brings to each track.

It’s encouraging to listen to a group who is grounded in the local scene and at the same time, trying to push it up to the next level of national recognition. Native Sun is well on their way with this goal, and more than worth the listen.

You can find out more about Native Sun by visiting their website. You can also find Native Sun on Facebook.

Clint Breeze and The Groove

Clint Breeze is a local Indianapolis musician and producer who performs with his backing band, The Groove. The Groove consists of Clint Breeze (drums), Nick Tucker (bass), Joel Tucker (guitar), Jared Thompson (saxophone), Jay Higginson (trumpet), and Chris Pitts (keys). Together, Clint Breeze and The Groove fuse their sound with influences from jazz, soul, and hip-hop with catchy melodies and groove-centric rhythms.

To find out more about Clint Breeze and The Groove, you can visit their website or Facebook page.


With all the talent gathering at The Mousetrap Bar and Grill, you’d need to have a pretty good excuse not to show up. I know I’ll be there to support Ed Lanier’s album release, and see what he has to bring to the Indy music scene.

The show kicks off at 10:00 pm Saturday night. Ticket prices range from five to seven dollars (five presale, seven at the door). I’ll see you there.


Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *