Neil Young releasing ‘lost’ “Hitchhiker” album from 1976


Neil Young has just announced the release of the 1976 Hitchhiker on Sept. 8. The album, long considered lost, is a solo acoustic album that was recorded live over one day in Indigo Studios in Malibu.

Among the 10 songs to be released are ones that would later show up on other Young albums. “Human Highway” would be released just two years later on “Comes a Time” and “Powderfinger,” “Ride My Llama” and “Pocahontas” would later be released on the 1979 classic, “Rust Never Sleeps.”

A real treat for Young fans however will be the chance to hear the previously commercially unreleased “Hawaii”, described as “a soaring ballad” and a song occasionally played live, “Give Me Strength.”

The title track alone would be re-recorded and released on Young’s 2010 Le Noise album. You can hear the original acoustic version below:

The original 1976 recordings were produced by long-time Young producer, David Briggs. The new release will have post-production done by John Hanlon, who has produced many of Young’s albums in recent decades.

While Young looks to the past with these archival recordings, he has also been releasing new material with his backing band, Promise of the Real. He released both studio and live albums in 2016 and just last month released a music video for the song “Children of Destiny”.



Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.